Skip to menu
Skip to menu
Skip to content
Skip to footer

Wuhan, China
(From 2006 to now)
  • Location : Hubei province in the People's Republic of China
  • Population : 11,000,000
  • Area : 8,494.41㎢
  • Website:

Wuhan is the capital city of Hubei province in the People's Republic of China. It is the largest city in Hubei and the most populous city in Central China, with a population of over 11 million, the ninth most populous Chinese city, and one of the nine National Central Cities of China.

The name "Wuhan" came from the city's historical origin from the conglomeration of Wuchang, Hankou and Hanyang, which are collectively known as the "Three Towns of Wuhan". It lies in the eastern Jianghan Plain, at the confluence of the Yangtze river and its largest tributary, the Han River, and is known as "Nine Provinces' Thoroughfare"


Wuhan's climate is humid subtropical with abundant rainfall in summer and four distinctive seasons. Wuhan is known for its humid summers, when dew points can often reach 26 °C or more. Spring and autumn are generally mild, while winter is cool with quite low rainfall and occasional snow. The monthly 24-hour average temperature ranges from 4.0 °C in January to 29.1 °C in July.


Up until the 21st century, Wuhan was largely an agricultural region. Since 2004 it has been a focal point of the Rise of Central China Plan, which aims to build less-developed inland economies into hubs of advanced manufacturing.

Since 1890, the steel industry has been the backbone of Wuhan's industry. In 2010, automobile industry exceeded GDP for Wuhan Iron and Steel Corporation (WISCO) steel for the first time.

Wuhan is an important center for economy, trade, finance, transportation, information technology, and education in China. Its major industries include optic-electronic, automobile manufacturing, iron and steel manufacturing, new pharmaceutical sector, biology engineering, new materials industry and environmental protection. Environmental sustainability is highlighted in Wuhan's list of emerging industries, which include energy efficiency technology and renewable energy

Scientific research

Wuhan contains three national development zones and four scientific and technological development parks, as well as numerous enterprise incubators, over 350 research institutes, 1470 high-tech enterprises, and over 400,000 experts and technicians.

Wuhan University of Technology is another major national university in the area. Founded in the year 2000, it was merged from three major universities, Wuhan University of Technology (established in 1948), Wuhan Transportation University (established in 1946) and Wuhan Automotive Polytechnic University (established in 1958). Wuhan University of Technology is one of the leading Chinese universities accredited by the Ministry of Education and one of the universities constructed with priority by "State Project 211" for Chinese higher education institutions.

History of Exchanges

History of Exchanges
2006 MOU between Daejeon and Wuhan
2006 MOU between Daedeok Innopolis and New Technology Development District of Wuhan
June. 2012 Daejeon Delegation visits Wuhan
April~Oct. 2013 an officer of Wuhan works at Daejeon city hall through K2H program
Nov. 2013 Vice Mayor participates in The friend cities Summit in Wuhan
April~July. 2014 an officer of Wuhan works at Daejeon city hall through K2H program
July. 2015 Youth Sports Exchange
June. 2016 Vice Mayor of Daejeon signs on the 10th anniversary of agreement between two cities
Sep. 2017 Wuhan Delegation participates in the 2017 Daejeon APCS
Sep. 2018 Two cities hold the event of paintings and calligraphic works Exchanges
Sep. 2018 Youth Sports Delegation of Wuhan visits Daejeon
Aug. 2019 Two cities hold the event of paintings and calligraphic works Exchanges
Nov. 2019 Sports Exchange between two cities